Mommy bootcamp or Bootcamp mommy?

So I have to say that life here in Georgia has been pretty awesome. Outside of the ridiculous amount of bugs, homeless people, stray/ dead dogs, and poor weather reports (aka huge random thunder storms), the family and I have been living it up! For once in my life, I am currently living on my own. Well, not fully on my own but NOT  living in someone else’s house (halleluiah). We have added Marcus, my stupid, sometimes wall eyed, horrible to walk, annoyingly loving, try to sit in your lap even though he’s upwards of 50+ pounds dog. We have also added Jules the cat (formerly Jewels) who we adopted and who has comfortably adapted well to our family. She even cries when Loo cries and will also scold him by nibbling on his hair when he throws a temper tantrum on the floor. Overall, I think I have the perfect little family unit that I have always dreamed of. The only thing is, I hunger for something a little more.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am ENJOYING being a stay at home mom. I never thought I’d like it as much as I do, but Loo being older and more fun and finally having my own responsibilities is kind of liberating. It also helps that for once, Vince AND I don’t have to work a kajillion hours just to barely pay our bills. I can pay all the bills/ groceries, decorate my house if I want to (slowly and in moderation), create the ultimate batman room for loo, and even have some left over money to go out to eat with Vince. Its amazing how much you appreciate the AWESOMENESS of that after you’ve worked like 60 hours a week during holiday in the largest grossing mall in the US and still can’t afford to go out once a month to dinner. Its also still exciting 6 months later that we are living in a three bedroom, two bathroom house for the same amount of money it would cost us to live in a 1 bedroom, efficiency kitchen in west chester. Our little family has come a long way and I definitely feel blessed.

But again, I hunger for something more. I feel like I kind of don’t deserve to be a stay at home mom yet. I want to do something that I can be crazy proud of (outside of pushing a kid out) and show Loo that if you can make a plan and stick with it, you can achieve whatever you want. So here’s my crazy plan. I don’t know why, but I’m actually horribly embarrassed to share it with you all; but I feel like if I share my plan, it’ll force me to go through with it.

I decided that I want to get in ridiculous physical shape, try for another child at the end of this/beginning of next year (cross your fingers for Girl Loo), get in ridiculous physical shape again, and then become a Marine Corps Officer all by the age of 27.

I know… soak it in. Becoming a marine was something that I wanted to do in high school, but kind of never went through with because I was a coward. I was afraid for my skin, afraid that I wouldn’t be able to physically keep up, and afraid of failing. Mostly afraid of failing. I don’t do well with the unexpected. Those of you who know me reaaaallly well know that I hate surprises. In fact, knowing the end of a book or a movie doesn’t upset me. It even gives me anxiety a lot of the times to do things I’ve never tried before. However, after living the ultimate surprise, LOO, I’ve realized that I adapt fairly well. That maybe being a marine isn’t really out of my grasp and that I don’t have to live vicariously through Vince anymore. Plus, for those of you who don’t know, there is this annoying perception of Dependents (those of us who live off of the earnings of our military spouses). In the military, the stereotype of dependents are that they are fat, money grubbing, cheating, baby making machines. I don’t want to be any of these things. In fact, I kind of hate being a dependent/ being called a dependent at all haha.

The plan is, I am 24. We will be done living here in 3 (-/+) years and will hopefully be settled in a new place near or closer to home for a few more years. Vince will hopefully have a good chunk of schooling done and will also be working on becoming a Marine Corps Officer (or something along that line). Loo will be almost or will be 5, and the next child will be about 2. That way I’m not leaving my children at an infant age. I want to become a reservist Marine corps officer with an administration MOS (military occupation) aka a desk job.

I’m not trying to be super bad ass.  I just want to be a good marine, wife and mom. I don’t think it’s too crazy but we’ll see. I still have three more years to get all this together! Wish me luck!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Mommy bootcamp or Bootcamp mommy?

  1. Hey Jackie, you can do this. My two favorite sites for getting strong at nerdfitness.com and mobilitywod.com.

    Also, check out Staci/Spezzy, she\’s a boss: http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2011/07/21/meet-staci-your-new-powerlifting-super-hero/

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Claire Dam Photog Blog

A place to check out shoots, post comments and learn more about Claire Dam Photography.

Clair Pruett Studios

A Philadelphia Tradition for 80 years

Red-Zone Report

football news and talk

The Sweeter Side of Mommyhood

The Sweeter Side of Mommyhood

Diet Plaid

a grand old time

